Long Walk: Longer History

All of my features in Tuesday’s Travels have been single locations and single event traveling but, it is time to change it up. Plus, there is no way that I can fit all of the great history and the friggin long road into one post. So Septembers feature is going to be…

El Camino de Santiago otherwise known as St. John’s Way

The ay

Why now and why this?

As I begin to look at my finances, I know a scary word, I have begun to realize that though I can dream about all of the great places I can travel to the reality is unfortunately not the most, shall we say, lucrative. But as I was sitting and lamenting my own fortune I began to remember a passage that I had read in a Spanish history book. Something about a pilgrimage still taken today.

Like many thoughts about Spain this one was one which induced light internet reading and then was placed aside for another day. That was until I was sitting in my Spanish Lit. discussion and there it was again. We were discussing the rout and more specifically its recent scandal. This however set a bug I could not ignore and so here I am.

I want one of these

History 

Let us begin where I began, with the history. I do not pretend to be an expert on anything related to history, especially when my knowledge is based off a few hours on the internet. I will however expedite your journey with my summary and allow you to follow me on an expedited version.

First to that wonderfully convenient and sometimes inaccurate source, Wikipedia. Wikipedia taught me that there was as long a history as I expected but, not as organized as I might like. This sight however supplied the most interesting facts unrelated to religious history. Things like, this was the way that Benjamin Franklin took to ask for funds from the French during the American war for independence.

The most concise version, if lacking what Wiki could not organize, I found at official site for American Pilgrims on the Camino. This is a concise website for those who would like to walk the road but, is less interesting for those who are more interested in history or culture. They did however have a grate book recommendation page. I spent quite a bit of time looking at the books that were recommended under free previews on Amazon.

Wait, you say I said I would tell you about the history and congratulations you have read long enough for me to stop rambling. El Camino de Santiago would translate into English to mean Saint James Way. Saint James is the patron saint of Spain. Saint James traveled the norther part of Spain preaching. This is however where the story falls into legend. To read more on the history try the Camino de Santiago web site or a more general history with interesting facts here.

There it is the introduction, however poor and breif, to my theme and exploration. To my readers out there, however few you are, feel free to ask any questions that you have and I will try to find the answers.

Con Alegria,

Hannah

 

3 comments on “Long Walk: Longer History

  1. […] Leave a Comment If you are up to date on your reading I have covered a brief history of the camino, fist ten days and the next ten days. *Please note I will list the ending point of […]

  2. […] Leave a Comment If you are up to date on your reading I have covered a brief history of the camino, fist ten days and the next ten days. *Please note I will list the ending point of […]

  3. […] Leave a Comment If you are up to date on your reading I have covered a brief history of the camino and the fist ten days. If you have been reading I have changed this weeks format a […]

Comments are closed.