The First Ten

I am going to try to break this trip down into ten day segments so bear with me, some parts might get repetitive. If they are, feel free to skip to the next section or just look at the pretty pictures. I promise I will not be offended.

*Please note I will list the ending point of each day and any noteworthy parts which come before.

The beginning

The traditional starting point of the camino is in France. At Saint Jean Pied de Por. This is the beginning of a 780Km walk.

Sothern France, a beautiful place to start.

This is supposed to be the hardest part of the walk. Those moments agter you enter the Pyrenees and begin to realize that this is not the walk in the park you thought it would be, pun intended.

Roncesvalles

A second less popular starting point, just inside of the French border, is a great place to start if I did not want to leave home

A look into history.

Zubiri

Of the few things written about the most notable is a beautiful old church.

A bridge. ūüôā

Pamplona

This is also often a point where initial foot problems come to a head.

The city famous for the running of the bulls.

Puerta la Rellna

This city features a beautiful six arch bridge.

Puerta la Reina medieval

The famous six arch bridge

Estella

Filled with Cyprus trees and farm country this proves to be a beautiful part of the trip.

Los Arcos

Fountains of wine and water, need I say more?

A common fall view

Logro√Īo

Rich in Roman and Celtic architecture this town was once settled by both of these Peoples.

N√°jera

The trip to this city is mostly up hill but, the city and the journey are well worth it. N√°jera was one the capital of country of Navarre.

Santo Domingo de la Calzada

And the walking continues…

3 comments on “The First Ten

  1. […] If you are up to date on your reading I have covered a¬†brief history¬†of the camino,¬†fist ten days¬†and the next ten days. *Please note I will list the ending point of each day and any noteworthy […]

  2. […] If you are up to date on your reading I have covered a¬†brief history¬†of the camino,¬†fist ten days¬†and the next ten days. *Please note I will list the ending point of each day and any noteworthy […]

  3. […] If you are up to date on your reading I have covered a brief history of the camino and the fist ten days. If you have been reading I have changed this weeks format a little and will be bullet pointing […]

Comments are closed.