Goya Goys I Follow

For the last few weeks we have been studying Goya in my Spanish Literature class here at The University of Iowa (if you ever have the opportunity to take the class do. It rocks my world. :)) and it has gotten me thinking. While Goya is not my favorite of the Spanish artists I know, he’s a little to dark for my tastes, I think it would be amazing to see one of his paintings in person. My quest for a Goya Museum, always a good search engine to start out with, let me to (da da da daaaaaa!) el Museo del Prado.

El Museo del Prado, in central Madrid, is one of the most famous art museums in the world and most definitely one of the most famous in Spain. The museum holds one of the worlds widest selections of art from the 12th to the 19th century and the undisputed best collection of Spanish art.

Here are a few of the highlights you might see on a trip to El Prado from Rick Steve.

