Ocean set in Iowa

I don’t imagine that I will experience a sun set quite like I saw for some time to come. I am and was sitting in a Ski lodge in Iowa (A state I thought incapable of producing such a place). I may have been slightly board when it began (long story but im not skiing), but i was certainly enthralled once the sun’s show began.

I only noticed the sun was setting because the constant heat of the sun on my leg had begun to fade. Previous to that point I had been sitting like a cat in the sun and doing homework.

When I looked up the first thing I noticed was the cloud. The sky had been clear all day but, it had changed. Five or six clouds had floated into frame the sunset. On any normal day they might have been called wispy, but tonight they looked like bold paint brush strokes in the sky. Their bright orange color stood in contrast to the pink horizon.

As the sun sank lower, the rest of the sky began to fade into deepening shades of blue. This is usually my favorite time of sunsets, the moment when the stars begin to appear. However the stars, if there were any were obliterated by the glare of the lights of the ski hill as they warmed up for their evening runners. This however did no matter as the sun remained the star of this show until the crown of its shimmering head sunk below the horizon.

The sun went from ordinary to extraordinary as it hit the horizon. In an instant it transformed from something to bright for the human eye to observe without being left with a sun spot in your eye, to something once observed by the human eye it was impossible to look away. In fact I grew silent in the conversation I had been having and we simply watched the sun fade into the horizon. The sun sank slowly, in a way I have only seen it do on the ocean. It sank bit by bit, just slow enough for you to see it but, fast enough that if you looked away you might miss it. And watch it we did as it seemed to melt into the horizon, until nothing but the memory of it remained in the pink trail of color in the sky.

One comment on “Ocean set in Iowa

  1. Windows Hosting says:

    “Nice Post. It’s really a very good article. I noticed all your important points. Thanks”

Comments are closed.