Dreams of Great Things

I received a message from a blog reader from Poland, who will be in Palma for the same year as me, and the final part of their last message said that they were “more excited than [me].” This is my response to that claim, both waking and sleeping (I will explain the sleeping part shortly).

My Waking Response

No way on gods green earth are you more excited than me! Seriously that is an impossibility! Well maybe at this minuet it is possible it is after all 2 am. Ok when was the message actually sent (checks WP) Ok so I would have been more awake then. AH! and there is a time change… (looks at time to figure out what time it would have been in Poland…gives us) ok so it was later there then it was here! I SO more excited then them. Wait… but I spent all day cramming for a midterm. OK they were probs more excited them me when the wrote it…(falls asleep thinking about excitedness)

What happened when I fell asleep

I looked out the window and saw this...

I was decending…
I was on a plane…
I looked out my window and I saw… (<<<that over there)
I was in Palma, I had to be almost…
I was so excited I thought I would burst! (I have never felt so excitement)
I could smell the confined air and my desire to get out of this flying can.
Then I was driving from the airport and I saw the mountains (so is the jumpy quality of dreams)

Now remove the plain and add houses and that is what I saw


White houses on hillsides flew by…
I was so excited I could hardly sit still…
OK I was actually bouncing up and down…
We never got there but we did get to the terminal…
Where I found my bag (which was out of it’s case weird)…
And then I realize…

Picking up my bag


I am an awesome packer and have everything I could ever need…
But…
I only have the shoes I am wearing…
I am still so excited I am jumping up and down!…
This is the only evidence I need to know I am the most excited person in the world for my study abroad trip…

I felt like this cat looks... too happy to return to reality

My alarm goes off…
I turn it off…
I cannot return to the excitement of the dream but, it lingers with me still!

closing remarks

To my new polish friend (Ok we are more of acquaintances but work with me here) I mean no offense and I thank you for the delight your message sparked in me. For this I owe you a drink when we are in Palma.

More like this

Another one down (sorta)

8 comments on “Dreams of Great Things

  1. gaiabathtime says:

    Nice to see you guys so excited about coming to Mallorca. it is indeed a fab island! A long time friend of mine writes a daily blog mallorca and I have it on my feed. He launches a days update always about about 7-55 am which is first cup of coffee time and I have to say that I always open it, read it, admire the picture and marvel at what a lucky girl I am to be living on such a beautiful island! Check it out on http://mallorcaphotoblog.com/2012/04/08/the-encounter/
    Happy Easter to you!

    • Happy Easter to you too! I had to smile today while reading your comment. I am delighted to wake up each day to mallorca photo blog daily (or whatever the word order is…i am forever switching it around). I am so happy you made others aware of this great tip. Many thanks ~H

  2. Jacek says:

    I’m on English studies. In Poland I’m studying both English and Russian languages, but in Palma there is only English.

    • Can I say that I am thoroughly impressed. I can barely keep two languages together. Even writing this short response to you I am using the spell check built into my computer. πŸ™‚ Can I ask you how many languages you do speak? (sorry if this feels a little like 20 questions by the way. πŸ™‚ )

      • Jcek says:

        Oh that’s ok, when you ask questions I can practice my English so it’s good for me. πŸ˜‰ Well, it’s quite difficult to learn Russian because it has different alphabet. I speak English (hope enough to understand by native speakers πŸ˜‰ ), I’ve just started to learn Russian so I can’t speak it easily and Polish of course. πŸ™‚ Probably we’ll have quick Spanish course before going to Mallorca.
        How about you?

      • 1. I am thoroughly impressed. 2.You are more than understandable, I promise. 3. I am sure learning Spanish will happen quickly enough, living and studying on a Spanish speaking island. 4. I am a Spanish and economics major. 3. I speak only English fluently, Spanish passably and I can swear in Irish, Finnish, and Polish. We have family friends from Ireland who taught me the basics and my gigi and my mumu used to yell at me in their respective natives tongues. πŸ™‚ Somehow don’t touch that sounds similar in just about every language.

  3. Jacek says:

    Ok, I give up! I’m just a little less excited than you. πŸ˜‰

    • I have to say I did not realize how excited I was until you questioned my level of excitedness. πŸ˜€ Ok I have a question that has been rolling around in my head that I am just going to ask… What are you studying in Palma?

Comments are closed.