A dog named cat and another named whiskey and other new things about my Spanish home

When I left for Spain my dad told me he had a feeling that I would be with a family with kids and a really good cook. Well I bought presents for kids just in case and it was a good thing that I did, mostly because everyone is enjoying the magic growing moose a lot, but also because mi madre espanola has a daughter. She might be a little old for kids toys at 15, Lola, is a bundle of fun and hormones, just like 15 year olds all over the world. The four people who live with me are loud and full of life. The argue at the kitchen table and scold each other, they poke fun and sing made up songs while they cook, they are kind and above all things patient when I say one more time “explicame mas no oye rapido” (explain it to me again, I did not hear you fast enough). I cannot pass too many judgments as these are all early observations after only living in their home, in my new home, for a few days, but I think I am going to like it here a lot. These people remind me of my own family, but, you know, Spanish.

So there is this fancy and formal picture of the three of this, but when Nuria, my host mom, threw her arms around her daughter and told me to “take a picture with my fancy camera” and it turned out like this, I thought it was worth a thousands words o solo, me encanta

My apartment is on Avenida Alejandro Rosello (Alejandro Rosello Ave.), a main street in the old town of Palma. We are on the ninth of ten floors, which for Palma is about as tall as it gets. I have a small bedroom off of the front hall, the other bedrooms are in the back of the apartment. It is perfect for me. I have more than enough space and the most amazing view, EVER! but more on that later. There is a snug and warm kitchen and a moderately sized and well used living room. There is a large balcony attached to the living room which has the same view as my room.

A stagnant view from my room

The VIEW! Can you see it there?! SEE ^^^^ Enlarge it if you dare! Ok enough of that… I call the view stagnant because each time you move it changes what you can see. There was no way to get it all in one shot so here it is, in and outside of the pic, from left to right. At the sky line on the left you can see the Mediteranian ocean. My sight lines include the route into the harbor so I often get to see big ships (I have seen four so far). As you move right you can see the buildings of old town. Notably there is a Gothic cathedral and then THE Gothic cathedral, La Catedral de Palma. Behind that large white glaring building (visible when you shift left or right) is a view of Spain’s only round castle (yup a castle), called Belver (which means beautiful view). Starting mid view and getting larger as you move right are the Tramatura Mountains (they tell me they might have snow on them in the winter). Finally, not visible in the pic is a great view of the street below my as it pours into the Plaza Espana, Palmas most bustling plaza.

FEW! a lot of information. Seriously there are more than 600 words in this post so I will stop. Is there anything YOU want to know about where I live? Digame (TELL ME)! Me da. ( I will tell you)

2 comments on “A dog named cat and another named whiskey and other new things about my Spanish home

  1. T.J. says:

    Who are the other two people in the family?? And what about this dog named cat? Nice view!

    • 1. The two other people living with me are the signifigant other of mi madre espanola, I get you his name later, and a PHD student at the UIB, the university I will be going to.
      2. Yep a dog named gato, which means cat. He is a small black dog, who loves me because i throw his toy a lot when I am home.
      3. Muchisimos gracias.

Comments are closed.